aholicstill.blogg.se

Is converthelper review
Is converthelper review













I’m trying to make a game, but I’m also trying to learn C++ to the fullest. I don’t neccisarily see that as an awful thing, however. This was a fun optimization, but my time might have been better spent doing other things. However, I sort of neglected to realize that I was testing with approximately two orders of magnitude more entities than are ever likely to be rendered in my specific game. This optimization allowed my engine to go from about ~93 FPS to around ~143 FPS in debug mode, and from around ~800FPS to ~1100FPS in release mode. Template void World :: eachEntity ( Func callback ) Coda The way I implemented an ECS was via the use of type erasure: I have one base class for each component, which looks like this: This, however, presented an interesting optimization problem. If I want to add more logic, I throw on a couple of systems, and occasionally a few new type of components. This allows us to have an easily-extensible game loop. So, in our engine’s case, we have Systems that process at a fixed interval: once per frame. It finds all Entities with an Image component and a Position component, and uses the information in each to draw a scene. Systems inspect the entities and do something to them based on their components. It’s essentially just an identifier-the components are stored separately. In my engine’s case, the Entity isn’t actually storing anything but information about what components it has!

is converthelper review

That’s really all they do: an Entity has multiple components, but no logic of its own. These components aren’t coupled-they’re totally independent of each other.Įntities tie components together, in the sense that they allow a given “thing” to have components of multiple types. In my engine, there’s a component type for a “Position”, which describes where something is. Wikipedia has a good article describing them, but I’ll summarize here.Ĭomponents are pieces of data with a specific purpose. ECSĪn Entity Component System is a style of designing a program comprised of three parts: Entities, Components, Systems. One interesting recent one: optimizing a component of my ECS system. However, that doesn’t mean that I don’t occasionally encounter engine-dev-related problems. I took a bit of a different approach this time, intentionally trying to make a game instead of an engine. I messed around with making a 2D engine before and enjoyed it, even if I didn’t actually get very far.

#IS CONVERTHELPER REVIEW CODE#

So, naturally, my next thought was to code the game from scratch.

is converthelper review

I actually disliked it fairly heavily, and it was hurting my productivity. I initially started creating a game in Unity, however, I quickly realized that I didn’t actually like the engine. Recently, I’ve been working on a 2D game.įull-time, in fact: I recently graduated early, and I figured I might as well take a year and a half to work on this project before getting a “real” job. Templates, Index Sequence, and Optimization ◀ Blog Templates, Index Sequence, and Optimization













Is converthelper review